24 January 2023

Food Festival Winners Celebrated at Awards Evening

Throughout April, 24 local restaurants competed for the votes of diners in the inaugural Taste Guernsey Food Festival, and the winners were crowned in an awards ceremony at the Farmhouse Hotel on Tuesday night (16th May).

The festival challenged venues to offer set menus featuring local seafood and dairy products. Diners were encouraged to review their dishes online to be entered into a prize draw for £1,200 in restaurant vouchers, representing a whole year of dining out.

Hosting the ceremony was the charismatic ‘Urban Rajah’ Ivor Peters, a food author and cook who describes himself as ‘born in Britain, spiced by India.’

La Reunion took home two of the three awards, with the west-coast restaurant picking up the titles for Best Local Seafood Dish and Best Guernsey Dairy Dish.

The Old Government House placed second in both categories, followed by Village East in the seafood category and La Frégate in the other.

The hotly contested Best Customer Service prize went to Pier 17, winning a category that saw 237 five-star votes, reflecting well on all participating venues.

The winner of the voters’ draw was Julie Todd, who was presented with £100 dining vouchers for 12 of the participating restaurants.

Marketing partners Stratagem Design & Digital also gave a prize for the best photo shared during the festival, selecting Nikki Robilliard’s photos of the beautifully presented food at La Frégate.

Organised by the Guernsey Hospitality Association and sponsored by the Guernsey Dairy, VisitGuernsey, Cimandis and Manor Farm Foods, the festival is due to return for its second iteration in April 2024.

Alan Sillett, President of the Guernsey Hospitality Association, said the following about this year’s event and awards night.

“We are really pleased with the success of the festival and wish to thank our sponsors and participating venues for making it such a success. Reflecting on the first festival, we are looking forward to returning with an even better one next year.

“Many congratulations to all the winners.”